Documentation
Print page

Who can sign up to be a user?

Under Access Control you find all settings regarding who can register to use your schedule(s) and what the registration process will look like. This includes which steps a new user should complete when signing up and which information they should provide in the process.

Note that it is also possible to allow people to book appointments without registering at all. In that case you do not need the settings on this page and you can skip to the next section. However, unless users are required to register, several features will be unavailable, such as the ability to track their booking history.

Who can register?

There are six options to control access to your schedule(s), ranging from open to very restrictive.

Access Control options

The most common (and most user friendly) option is to allow anyone who knows how to navigate to your schedule to register as a user. If you use your schedule for commercial purposes, this is probably the option you want to use.

Although SuperSaaS prevents search engines such as Google from indexing our schedules, there is a small risk that spammers find your schedule and try to use it to spread their ‘message’. Requiring registration is an effective way to deter the majority of them. Using registration confirmation and verification is likely to deter the rest of them.

As an aside, if you already let your users register and login on your own website, it would be possible to set up a so-called single sign-on and automatically log them in at SuperSaaS as well. This avoids the need for your users to log in twice. If your website is based on Drupal, Joomla! or WordPress, our free plugins help you set this up. Otherwise, an interface to your back-end systems would need to be custom built using the documentation for programmers.

If you would like to restrict access to specific users and/or user groups, you have four more options to choose from:

  • Shared password – only users who know the shared password can log in. Although this option helps prevent random visitors to your schedule from gaining access, there is no way to block access for a particular user once they know the shared password.
  • Specific IP address – IP filtering is only suitable if all potential users access the internet through a single gateway, i.e. all employees of a company. Once a user has created a login name while inside the IP range, he can also use it while outside the IP range. Under User Management it is possible to manually add users outside the IP range.
  • Specific email domain – this is suitable for organizations, who have their own email domain. Upon creating a login name, new users receive an email with a verification link that they need to click. Under User Management, users with different email addresses can be added manually.
  • Specific users – instead of having users create their own login names and passwords, this option lets the administrator (or superuser) do this. This can be done either manually via User Management or from a CSV file via Import

Collecting user details upon registration

Upon registration, you can collect additional information from users. Besides the typical login name and password, you can ask for further information such as users’ contact details. Two additional text fields are available to collect any remaining information you might need. And if you require more information still, you can attach your own custom form to the registration process.

Registration details

Each of the information fields that you set to Mandatory or Optional will appear on the sign-up form for a new user. Setting a field to Mandatory ensures that people cannot leave the field empty, while Optional shows the field but allows it to remain empty. Fields marked as Don’t ask do not appear on the sign-up form at all. Note that even the Password field can be switched off. Doing so will remove the password field from the login dialog for your schedule.

This page determines which information you collect during the registration process. On the Configure > Process page you can specify if the same or different information should be collected during the booking process. If you configure the schedule to ask for the same information for both processes, then the information entered when registering will be presented as a default value that can be edited during the booking process.

Users can change this information later on by clicking on the Your settings link in the upper-right corner of the screen. This link will only show when users are logged in and you haven’t blocked them from updating their own information (see Other settings below).

By default, SuperSaaS sets the user’s email address as their login name. If you do not intend to use any form of registration, you should uncheck Use email address as login name as this allows you to more easily collect email addresses upon booking.

In addition to the standard contact detail fields, you can use two additional text fields to collect custom information. If you enable one or both of these fields, they will also become available for use in the booking dialog that can be configured via Configure > Process.

If you need to add more than two fields or you would like to present users with a fixed set of options, you can add a custom form to the registration process. Once you have created such an integrated form (see Adding booking forms), you can add it to the registration process. You can achieve this by scheduling it from the drop-down menu under Attach a form to each user to capture additional information?.

Provided the supervisor field is not used for internal purposes, it can also be shown on a user’s login screen by setting it to Visible. For more information of the Supervisor field and its uses, please refer to the User Process and Payment sections.

Registration confirmation and verification

By default no confirmation of registration is provided to new users. Upon completion of the registration process, they are immediately logged in to your system and can start using your schedule(s). By selecting Send a confirmation email to the user, you ensure that the SuperSaaS system sends new users a confirmation email. The content of this email can be customized under Layout Settings (see also Layout). If, on top of confirming registrations to new users, you as the account’s administrator would like to be notified of new registrations, you need to check Send a notification mail to the administrator.

Registration confirmation and verification

To discourage unwanted visitors from signing up, you can require them to verify their email address by selecting Send a confirmation email with a link the user has to click on before he can log in. This weeds out people using fake or invalid email addresses, as they won’t receive the notification email and thus cannot activate their user account.

To understand what the registration process looks like to new users, you can check the flowchart on the page. It instantly reflects any changes you make to the settings. For example, if you select the option Only people from a specific IP address, the flowchart will update to show a step that says that the IP address will be checked. Note that this is only the registration process; there is another flowchart that shows the booking process under Configure > Process.

Access Control flowchart

Other settings

At the bottom of the Access Control page, three more sets of registration/authorization related settings can be found. The first setting can be used to provide new users with a starting credit upon registration. Note that this option is only available when the credit system has been enabled. For more information see the documentation for the credit system.

Other registration/authorization settings

The second set of settings allows you to implement additional security measures such as preventing browsers from storing login names and passwords. Here you can also block users from updating the information they provided upon registration (see above). Subscribers also have the option to enable the use of a secure SSL/TLS connection in combination with their schedule(s).

If you have multiple schedules in your account you will see a set of settings that allows you to show a list of available schedules to your users. The final set of settings determines whether superusers can create additional users and act on their behalf (see also Daily Use for tips on how to put these settings to good use).