Managing appointments and customers
Most of your daily interaction with the SuperSaaS system will be through the Supervise section of your schedule(s). Here you can review your bookings and, if relevant, approve or reject them. Various standard usage reports are available here, offering you insight into the way people interact with your schedule.
Via User Management you have access to all your users’ details. If you picked a different term for your users, such as “clients”, this option would be named Client Management. This is also where you go when you need to make an appointment on someone’s behalf. Importing and exporting user information is done via Import and Export respectively.
Reviewing your bookings
Via Supervise > Overview, you can review all your upcoming appointments. You can access an overview of old and deleted bookings via the and links respectively. The overview can be sorted by clicking the column headers. If your schedule has multiple resources or services, a drop-down menu is available to filter out appointments for a certain resource or service.
Using the search bar below the overview, you can find the reservations for a particular person. Another way to get an overview of someone’s appointments (across multiple schedules) is via User Management.
The information shown in the overview is configurable via Configure > Layout. Here you can select any of the mandatory and optional booking detail fields, including custom fields, to be shown as columns in list views such as this overview.
To the right of each entry, you will see two or more icons. Clicking the schedule icon, , will show you the appointment/slot on the schedule, while the edit icon, , allows you to make changes to the appointment/slot (see below). On a capacity schedule, the spyglass icon, , allows you to zoom in on the reservations for a particular slot.
For schedules with payment or approval the system also shows a column with symbols such as status codes.or . You can hover over the symbol to see a pop-up with an explanation of the symbol, you can also look at a list of all
Approving reservations manually
If you work with administrator approval, you will also see a Configuring the booking process).in the booking overview for pending bookings or a for bookings that have already been approved; if paid with credits. On the schedule, bookings that still need to be approved will be shown in a lighter shading. The administrator can also choose to receive an email for each approval request (see
To actually approve a reservation, click its edit icon. In the pop-up that appears, just below the booking details, you’ll see the approval status in blue and anbutton. In case the booking has already been approved, this will be a button, which allows you to revoke your approval, if necessary.
Note that superusers also have access to the bookings overview. By default, superusers are able to approve bookings. This can be changed, if necessary, via Configure > Access, by unchecking (see also Superusers’ access rights)
Making appointments on someone’s behalf
If you receive a booking by phone or email, you may want to add it to the calendar yourself. But given that you are logged in as administrator, the booking will show as belonging to the administrator. To avoid this, you may want to ‘act on behalf of’ someone. If you make most or all of your bookings on behalf of other people and you do not care that they get listed as your own appointments there is also a quicker way of working explained later.
To act on behalf of someone else, go to User Management. You can only act on behalf of registered users. So you would first need to create a new user if that person is not already in registered. Next click the blue arrow, , to the right of the user’s details. This will take you to your dashboard, where you can select the schedule you want to use for the booking. In the top bar, next to your own username, you will see the username/email address of the person on whose behalf you are acting. If you now make a booking, it will get listed as created by that person, followed by a slash and the name of the person who actually performed the booking. This ensures that the booking gets listed in the user’s agenda and automatic confirmation and reminder emails are sent to him, if applicable.
To stop acting on someone’s behalf, simply click his username in the top-right corner of the screen. While you are acting as someone else, you retain your own privileges. So, even if you restricted the information regular users can see, you will still see it when you are acting on behalf of a user.
If you don’t work with registered users, you can’t act on their behalf. However, you can send out confirmation emails to people for whom you are creating appointments. To do so, make sure that Access Control) and enable the email field via Configure > Process. This will allow you to enter an email address for each booking you create while being logged in as administrator. If you’ve configured email confirmations, a confirmation will be sent to this address automatically.is unchecked (
Via Supervise > Reporting you can access several standard reports. Using the various selectors, you can gain insight in overall booking behavior and/or utilization per day, week or month over a specific time period. The data that is used to generate the chart/report can be downloaded in CSV or XLS format by clicking .
Note that if all you want is the raw booking data for a specific time period, you should use the download option under Supervise > Download instead. This data can be used to generate your own custom reports in Excel, Numbers or Google Docs.
Via User Management you have access to all your users’ details. When you work with the credit system, you can use the edit option to manipulate individual users’ credit. In the same way you can change a user’s role from regular user to superuser or block him from accessing your reservation system altogether.
Via Export, which can be found in the menu on the right-hand side of your dashboard, you can download all users’ registration details in either CSV, XLS, XML or VCF/vCard format. In case you need to make mass changes to the data, you can export the customer database to, for instance, the CSV format. You can then apply the changes, save it as a comma-separated CSV file and upload that file again via Import. Please note that Import can only process comma-separated (CSV) files.
If, during file import, you see an error like “Malformed CSV: invalid byte sequence in UTF-8”, check the following:
- Please make sure that you’ve saved the file in CSV format
- Sometimes letters with diacritic marks such as “é” cause errors. These marks can be manually removed, but it is generally quicker to copy the file to Google Docs and to save it from there
- Please make sure that the file is comma-separated. Older versions of Excel sometimes save the file using a semicolon-separated format. The Google Docs fix mentioned above would also solve this problem