Documentation
Print page

Managing payments

Dependent on the type of payment used – manual, online and/or credits – different options are available to manage payments and to handle exceptions and refunds.

Payment overview and management

When you work with payment, the P and + icons are used to indicate payment status; P indicates payment is pending, while + means payment was completed and the booking approved. indicates the booking was (partially) paid with credit. Furthermore, indicates that payment is in progress, while L signals that the user has chosen to pay later. There are a few more exotic symbols related to payment failures that can be found in the list of all status codes.

Overview of appointments

If you have chosen to work with manual payment – bank transfer, check or credit card – bookings will be shown as pending approval: P. Once you have received payment or verified the credit card information, you will have to manually approve the booking (see also Managing appointments and customers).

If you’ve enabled the shop option in SuperSaaS, an overview of shop-related payments is available within your PayPal account.

Overwriting the payment status

There are times that you need to override the approval process manually. For example, you may want to mark a booking as paid because you want to give it away for free or have already received payment through another channel. When viewing the booking details as administrator, you will either see an Approve or Revert button, which can be used to override/revert the current status.

Approval pop-up

Restoring timed out bookings

When a user makes a booking but doesn’t complete the full payment process, the booking will be timed out after about 15 minutes and is moved to the trash to avoid claiming a space. In the trash, timed out bookings are marked with a T icon. In order to restore a booking after it timed out, navigate to Supervise > Overview > Show trash, click the image icon to the right of the booking in question and then click Restore Reservation.

Restore after time-out

If a user takes more than 15 minutes to pay and payment comes in after an automatic time-out, the related booking is automatically reinstated from the trash. In this case there is a very small chance that another client has taken the spot in the mean time. When that happens, the administrator will receive an email to alert him to resolve the double booking manually.

Refunds

When you use online payment and want to refund a customer, you need to do so via PayPal. A few moments after you refund the payment through PayPal, the associated booking will automatically be marked as refunded and moved to the trash. Note, however, that if you or your users cancel a booking on your SuperSaaS schedule, it will not be automatically refunded through PayPal.

The system does not distinguish between full and partial refunds. If you refund only part of a booking then the booking will be moved to the trash. If that’s not what you want to happen then you can reinstate it from the trash as described earlier.

If you’ve enabled the credit system and allow users to cancel their bookings, credits will be automatically refunded once a user cancels a booking.

Accessing credit card information

When your clients enter their credit card information on the checkout screen, how does is get to you? For security reasons it is not possible to send credit card details by email, so you will have to come to the SuperSaaS site to retrieve the information. To facilitate this process, you can specify that you want to receive an email notification for each transaction via Configure > Process. This email contains a direct link to a secure server, where you will need to log in with your account name and password.

Credit card details

The payment status icon of reservations that have credit card information associated with them contains a link to this information: P. Only the administrator and superusers can view this information, provided they are logged in. To see the full credit card number, you need to click the Reveal link to switch to an encrypted connection that can safely send the credit card details.

Managing credits

Via User Management you can update individual users’ credit levels. If you need to make mass changes to this data, you can best export the customer database to, for instance, a (comma-separated) CSV format via Export. You can then apply the changes, save the file and upload it again via Import. Note that Importonly allows CSV files.

Monthly credit reset

Under Access Control you can choose to have your users’ credit level automatically reset to a predefined value on the first day of each month.